Users of the Lightroom app are finding their files wiped after update
The latest update to Adobe’s Lightroom app for iPhone and iPad caused many users to lose any of their photos and presets that were not synced to the cloud.
Adobe has confirmed that the issue has no fix and any files that were lost are now unrecoverable.
Users have reported losing years of photo edits, presets, and watermarks.
Adobe did officially confirm the problem with the 5.4 update, and have released version 5.4.1 to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the newest update will not restore any of the data lost due to the previous update.
The forum post by Adobe Quality Engineer Customer Advocate Rikk Flohr reads:
We are aware that some customers who updated to Lightroom 5.4.0 on iPhone and iPad may be missing photos and presets that were not synced to the Lightroom cloud.
A new version of Lightroom mobile (5.4.1) for iOS and iPadOS has now been released that prevents this issue from affecting additional customers.
Installing version 5.4.1 will not restore missing photos or presets for customers affected by the problem introduced in 5.4.0.
We know that some customers have photos and presets that are not recoverable. We sincerely apologize to any customers who have been affected by this issue.
If you are affected by this issue, please refer to the information in this forum thread.
No assets in the Lightroom cloud were lost or are at risk. Lightroom mobile on Android, Lightroom desktop on macOS and Windows, as well as Lightroom Classic are not affected.
RHYNO Networks was designed to meet the needs of the IT marketplace. Specifically, to offer businesses skilled, timely IT services in order for them to focus on their business. We’re dedicated to the principles of Reliability, Innovation and Customer Service.